Log in

2019 WMSHP Board Elections

November 19, 2018 1:51 PM | Brad Miller (Administrator)

Please see the list of nominees for this year's annual board elections below.  Members: please vote at wmshp.net/vote.  Voting deadline is November 30th.

President-Elect 2019:

Kyle Schmidt received his Doctorate in Pharmacy from Ferris State University in 2013. After graduation, he accepted and successfully completed a PGY-1 Pharmacy Practice Residency at Charleston Area Medical Center in Charleston, West Virginia, followed by a PGY-2 Specialty Residency in Critical Care at Beaumont Health in Royal Oak, Michigan. He is currently an Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice at Ferris State University and has been an active WMSHP Executive Board Member since January of 2016. 

Secretary 2019-20:

Brad Miller (incumbent) is currently an Informatics Pharmacist at Spectrum Health in Grand Rapids. He graduated from Ferris State University in 2002, and then completed a Pharmacy Practice Residency at Spectrum Health. Prior positions he has held include Pharmacy Director at Pennock Hospital in Hastings, and Clinical Pharmacy Specialist in Emergency Medicine at Spectrum Health in Grand Rapids. Brad has served as the Secretary for WMSHP since 2004.

Board Members 2019-20:

Andrea Borst, born and raised in Denver, Colorado, attended Hope College from 2008-2012 where she received her Bachelor’s Degree in Chemistry.  From 2012-2016, she attended Ferris State University and earned her PharmD.  Following pharmacy school, Andrea successfully completed a PGY-1 residency at Spectrum Health and a PGY-2 pediatric residency at Helen DeVos Children’s Hospital.  Andrea currently splits her time between Adult Internal Medicine at Spectrum and Pediatrics at Helen Devos.  In her free time, Andrea enjoys running, reading romance novels, and photography.  Andrea has been a member of WMSHP since 2017 and is excited to expand her role in the organization by serving on the board.

Abby Dalman is a clinical pharmacist at Spectrum Health Butterworth Hospital and Zeeland Community Hospital.  She splits time working with the internal medicine and Investigational Drug Service teams.  A native of West Michigan, Abby attended Hope College before earning her PharmD at Ferris State University.  Outside of pharmacy, she enjoys visiting local breweries with friends, going to the symphony, spending time with family, and catching up on Netflix.       

Sarah Hoerner (incumbent) is a clinical pharmacist at Helen DeVos Children’s Hospital, with interests in hematology/oncology and general pediatric medicine. She is a Michigan native who grew up in the Metro Detroit area. After graduating from Concordia University Wisconsin with her PharmD, Sarah successfully completed a PGY-1 residency at Spectrum Health. Following residency, she stayed on at the children’s hospital. In her free time she enjoys figure skating, spending time outdoors, knitting, and trying new restaurants and breweries.

Shelby Kelsh is an Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice at Ferris State University in Grand Rapids. In 2016, she received her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from SUNY-Buffalo in Buffalo, NY. Upon graduation, Kelsh completed her PGY-1 Pharmacy Practice Residency with Spectrum Health. Currently, she is developing a new ambulatory care practice site at Spectrum Health Internal Medicine Residency Academic Medicine Practice where she hopes to develop a transitions of care program. She has been a key planner for Ferris State University's Spring Seminar and the 2018 District IV meeting. Finally, Kelsh has been a member of WMSHP since moving to Michigan in 2016 and currently resides in Sparta, MI.

Mitchell Stein (incumbent) is currently a Clinical Pharmacy Specialist in Emergency Medicine/Critical Care and the Pharmacy Residency Program Director at Ascension Borgess. He has stayed in Michigan throughout his education and career and is dedicated to serving the West Michigan region. He received his Bachelor’s Degree from Western Michigan University, went to the University of Michigan for pharmacy school, and came back to West Michigan to complete the PGY-1 Pharmacy Residency at Borgess. He has worked at Borgess since completing residency in 2015. Mitchell is currently serving as a board member, a position he has held since 2016.

Derek Vander Horst has been a resident of western Michigan the entirety of his life; often jokingly stating that he “lives on US 131”.  He obtained his PharmD from Ferris State University in 2015; and then completed a PGY1 Pharmacy Practice Residency and a PGY2 Infectious Diseases Pharmacy Residency at Munson Medical Center in Traverse City. After completion of his residency training, he relocated to Grand Rapids to continue his career at Spectrum Health as one of their pharmacists working in antimicrobial stewardship and adult infectious diseases. He is an active member of the Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists (MSHP), serving on the Antimicrobial Stewardship Committee for several years; and he also served as the secretary of the Northern Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists (NMSHP) in 2016.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software